FullSizeRender (3)

Check out Spirit Science on Facebook (photo credit).

I read this a few days ago and this quote really spoke to me. Yes, we want other people to like us. After all, what is life without those crucial social relationships that we form? But, do not settle for just any “body” that steps foot on your doorstep. You also have a choice in deciding if you want that person in your life. Know your worth. Know the value that your presence carries. I didn’t even realize that throughout my life I lived like the first sentence of the quote. I always worried if other people liked me. I admit, sometimes I have isolated myself from those toxic people for my own good. On some level I tried to avoid toxic people. But in times where I was most vulnerable or depressed or just felt I wasn’t worth anything–when I felt I wasn’t enough I settled for some crappy people and did some equally crappy things of my own free will. I would latch onto whoever made me feel like I mattered. I have come a long way but there is still more to overcome. Nowadays I am too wrapped up in my busy schedule to worry about what other people think of me. Once I set myself free from the burden of having to prove I am funny, I am a catch, I am worthy of the other person’s presence, I realized that I don’t need to prove those things anymore. I know my worth, I know I am a good person, and I know that I treat people pretty darn well. I let my actions show what I am truly capable of.

