This morning I read a very interesting article on LinkedIn called “Are you a quit-switcher or a switch quitter” by James Altucher talking about quitting certain things and switching to a new thing. This thing could be a career, hobby, whatever speaks to you. One quote that stood out to me was:

“Theodore Geisel ‘s first book “And To Think That I Saw It On Mulberry Street” came out in 1937. It had been rejected 26 times by publishers…and then it got accepted…on the 27th time. If Theodore Geisel (Dr. Seuss) gave up on the 26th try we would never have his second book: The Cat in the Hat. We would have no Grinch and no Green Eggs.” – James Altucher

Altucher goes on to say that love and persistence equals mastery. Keep trying, don’t give up. But this doesn’t necessarily mean you have to have the persistence of Dr. Seuss. Do what speaks to you. Believe in yourself even when no one else does. You can make great things happen in your life if you have the will power to become a master. This is obviously very hard to do. I have told you in previous posts my current 10+ year struggle with playing the guitar. I am still a beginner even after all these years. I love it but I haven’t had the persistence to stick with it. I give up and go back to it. I pick it up and put it down. I’ve done this a hundred times. But this is ok. And it is also ok to “quit and switch” as Altucher laid out in his article. It is ok to explore what you love by trying new things. If you don’t like it or can’t see yourself sticking with it then you can always switch to something else.

And his last warning is to never quit switching, for if you do that, you’re no longer living.

Sabrina

