Even a seemingly insignificant moment can define you, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Every minute detail can drastically alter your life. I don’t think we realize the power of our actions. But what is equally powerful is our thoughts. Each day you have the opportunity to reinvent your mindset. Even though your circumstances may not be so easy to change due to bills, commitments, or fear, your mindset can always be altered. However, this is not an easy task. For myself I have always had a struggle with trying to change my mindset in order to be happier. I hear happiness is a choice and I would like to choose happiness for myself. But, it isn’t always this easy. Sometimes we thrive on sadness. Sometimes we get so used to sadness because it has become such a part of us that we are afraid of feeling something else. Happiness sounds nice, but it also sounds scary. Why is it scary, you may ask. Well, happiness is a big responsibility. Once you have it, you may feel obligated to keep it and if you lose it you may be even harder on yourself. What’s more is that you may find comfort in your sadness and you don’t know what to expect with happiness. But, happiness only becomes unpredictable when it is rooted in external sources.

The key thing is to find yourself and be happy with who you are. Go out and be boldly you, be confidently you. How? By loving yourself first. Trust me, reader, I need to take my own advice. Now more than ever I need to dig deep within myself and re-discover my confidence. It has gotten lost these past few weeks but I know it is inside of me somewhere ready to come out.

Be you, be confident, be happy, for life is too short and you don’t want to end up in your last moments of life and instead of your life full of happy images and memories passing rapidly through your mind, you find yourself saying “wait that’s it? I need more time. I didn’t get to live my life to the fullest. I didn’t accomplish my goals. I need to love more passionately.” Today my grandfather was reminiscing talking about his friend who passed away a few years ago. He said, “and he didn’t even get to enjoy his money, he was only retired a year before he passed away.” And this hit me hard, I was silent in thought. This is a profound thing my grandfather said. I feel it is the mindset of most working citizens. You work, live for the weekends, plan for retirement so you can finally live your life, and you just mosey on along a “safe” life, a “mundane” life, hoping that in the future you will get time to enjoy yourself and reap benefits of years of hard work. But we may never get this future time period. All we have is now. All we can do is try to be happy today. And this made me realize what choice I should make in my life at this moment. I don’t want to make a “safe” choice of misery that is disguised as practicality. I know exactly what I want. For the first time I will confidently follow my own intuition free from the influence of others. I value all the opinions that are shared with me on what I should do. Hey, I’m the one who asks for everyone else’s opinions! But now I remembered what I want to stand for. I got into a car accident a little over a year ago. I often think back to it and I remember that in the moment I had no idea what was happening as my body was being propelled forward. I was breathless, weightless, and my first thought after my initial “oh shit” was, what if that had been it. I haven’t even lived yet… With all this being said, I know what I want, now I just need to work towards it. All of my goals can be accomplished because I believe in myself. After being a mess the past few days, I will pick myself back up and move forward towards creating a life where I will be proud to say all of my accomplishments and travels and have my grandkids look up to me and aspire to be like me.

-Sabrina

