IMG_4028

I used to suffer from a chronic condition called procrastination. This procrastination led me down a path of worry and self-destruction that only I could burry myself out of. The way I helped overcome these conditions was realizing that the best way to combat nervousness and anxiety with a certain task or deadline for an assignment was to simply just begin. Worrying and talking about the problem or task does absolutely nothing to help get it done. The only thing this does is make you even more anxious and sometimes even upset with yourself. I have learned that no matter how many self-help books/blogs/Ted talks I have read or watched, the only way to get things done is to motivate myself. To motivate yourself, don’t dwell on the task at hand, actually be productive and do something about it. At some point you will become sick of complaining to yourself (trust me, I didn’t think it was possible for this to happen to me but it did).

My eye-opening realization was something as simple as tackling the growing mess that had become my bedroom. After recently moving out of my apartment and my old house (where my childhood things resided) into a new house, I found myself inundated with things. I had projects to complete in my new living space and I had clothes to get rid of and school items to organize. It was a lot. But one morning I woke up at 5:30 a.m. thanks to my internal clock being tricked by my new skylights (thank you sunlight) and I looked around my room thinking that things need to change or I will soon be consumed by all the things. All of them. All the things. So I got up and started. I didn’t know where to start at first because I was overwhelmed (partly the excuse I kept telling myself when I would contemplate cleaning in the past) but this time I just began. I realized it didn’t matter where I started, as much as it mattered that I started. That day I spent the entire day going through all of my clothes, refolding, redecorating, organizing, cleaning the floors and bathroom, etc..

Ever since that day I have become what Ronda Rousey has coined as her phrase “don’t be a D.N.B.” A DNB is a “do nothing bitch.” I used to be one of those until that morning a few weeks ago when I finally got sick of my surroundings. Realizing I needed to change this and act now, I have applied that same mentality to all of my school work and other areas in my life. I am a constant worrier and over-thinker. Now when I get an assignment, I try not to let my mind run wild– I simply begin.

This culminated with one of my professors telling me just last night before class started that I have been really on top of things and how I am always the first to submit my homework (and do it correctly, too). I lost myself the past two years, I have put a toll on my body both physically and mentally, but now I can say “I’m back baby and I still got it” and I am probably even better at it now.

So to you, Reader, I invite you to simply just…begin.

~Sabrina~

