Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 2.35.06 PM.pngAs a second year graduate student, I am coming close to entering the job market. Yes, I have had summer jobs, part-time jobs, and a few internships. BUT now I am looking for more than a job, a career. AND going one step further, I am looking for something I can be passionate about. I have interests but do I have TALENTS? How can I cash in on a talent and make it, not a job or a hobby, but a lucrative career?

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.” –Aristotle

I want to be great and do what I love and…be great AT what I love. One problem: I am good at a few things but I have not mastered something. I don’t know what I’m “talented” at. I can play guitar but I’m no Jimi Hendrix. I have a DSLR camera but I’m no national geographic photographer. I guess I have to buckle down and treat my talent like I do my schoolwork. I need to study and learn and teach myself to become a master.

The first question is: what do I want to work towards to become great at? This is my underlying question. I don’t think I will find the answer by sitting in my room contemplating it…NO! I must do something in order to see what works. It is hard to get motivated when you feel talent-less, but the best way to start is to begin.

What are YOU currently doing/working on? What are you passionate about and how have you turned it into your career? Comment below!! (and subscribe)

 

Sabrina

 

